What is ashtanga yoga, limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

Introduction of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga, like all Yogasanas, is also derived from Sanskrit, the word Ashtanga is made up of two words in which the first word “Ashta” means eight and the second part is the word “Anga“. Ashtanga Yoga is based on the Yoga philosophy of Maharishi Patanjali. All yoga asanas and pranayama are based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali require eight limbs for complete well-being and physical, mental and spiritual purification. We are not practicing these in order, but all have evolved simultaneously.

yoga center india

Ashtanga Yoga

The word ‘yoga’ is also used to add numbers to mathematics, but when the word ‘yoga’ is used in the spiritual background, it means to connect the soul to the divine. Maharishi Patanjali has divided the process of connecting the soul with God. This action is known as Ashtanga Yoga.

There is a lot of disintegration in the soul due to which he is not able to realize the divine, which is also present in the soul. It can also be said that at the end of its deflections (scattering), the soul automatically attains the divine. The aim of all the eight limbs of yoga is to remove the deflections of the soul. There is no other way to achieve God than Ashtanga Yoga.

yoga teacher training rishikesh

Research by the Yoga Center India found that the first two organs of Ashtanga Yoga – Yama and Niyam, bring the principle uniformity in our worldly behavior. The other six limbs remove other deflections of the soul. The order of the eight parts of yoga described by Maharishi Pantjali is also very important. Each part removes specific (particular types of) deflections of the soul, but only if its earlier parts have been proven.

For example, posture cannot be proved without proving Yama and Niyam. Yoga teacher training Rishikesh recognizes that one never passes on the path of untruth, violence, etc. (truth, non-violence, astheya, brahmacharya and aparigraha, the divisions of Yama, the first organ of Ashtanga yoga). This is only a confirmation that Ashtanga yoga is the only way to attain God.

yoga teacher training in goa

According to Ashtanga Yoga Maharshi Patanjali, the name of the detention of Chittavritti is Yoga (Yogatavanavatrishodhrodhana) for its condition and accomplishment certain measures are necessary which are called ‘Angas‘ and which are considered eight in number. The first five organs (Yama, Niyam, Asana, Pranayama, and Pratyahara) under Ashtanga Yoga in 200 hours Yoga Teacher Training are known as ‘Bahirang’ and the remaining three organs (Dharna, Meditation, Samadhi) are known as ‘Intimate’

200 hour yoga teacher training in rishikesh

The seeker gets the right to intimate practice only when the spiritual practice is truly practiced. And according to 100 hours Yoga teacher training, ‘Yama’ and ‘Niyam’ are actually indicative of modesty and penance. Yama means abstinence which is considered to be of five types: (a) non-violence, (b) truth, (c) astheya (not stealing means not keeping sprue for the other’s substance),. Similarly, there are five types of rules as well: defecation, contentment, penance, self-study and god preservation (surrendering all deeds devoutly to God).

Asana refers to the stable and pleasing type of sitting (static sukhamasanam), which is the practice of immorality. Yoga Teacher Training In Goa, research conducted for 200 hours of Yoga Teacher Training found that the separation of the speed of breathing exhalation is called Pranayama when the posture is changed.

100 hour yoga teacher training rishikesh

Breathing out and exhaling is called exhalation. Pranayama is the practice of life. Its practice brings stability in life and the seeker moves to the stability of his mind. The last three parts are a spiritual practice. Pramastharya and Mana: The intermediate practice of persistence is called pratyahara. The outward feeling of the mind naturally decreases when Pranayama is relatively calm. The result is that the senses move away from their external subjects and become introverted. This is called pratyahara

In research at the Yoga Center, Rishikesh, it was found that the extroverted movement of the mind is stopped and it tries to become stable by going inward. The name of the initial state of this effort is dharna. Applying the mind to any part of the body (eg in the heart, at the tip of the nostril) or to the external material is called dharna.

200 hour yoga teacher training in goa

Meditation is the condition ahead of it. When the knowledge of the object in a particular country flows in a monotonous manner, then it is called ‘meditation‘. In both the perception and meditative conditions, the instinct is present, but the difference is that in the perception one instincts arise against the instinct, but in meditation, there is only a flow of eloquence, not a distortion.

The name of the maturity of meditation is samadhi. The mind is reflected in the shape of the percussion, its form becomes zero and the only percussion is illuminated. This is called the state of samadhi. The collective name of the last three parts is ‘Sanyam’, whose result of winning is the light or light of wisdom. Pragya arises after samadhi and this is the ultimate goal of yoga

100 hour yoga teacher training goa

The limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

The name “8 Anga” comes from the Sanskrit word Ashtanga and refers to the eight organs of yoga: Yama (attitude towards our environment), niyama (attitude towards oneself), asana (physical posture), pranayama (restraint of breath or Expansion), Pratihara (withdrawal of senses), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation) and Samadhi (complete integration).

The eight parts of Ashtanga Yoga are as follows

  1. Yama
  2. Rule
  3. Asana
  4. Pranayama
  5. Pratyahar
  6. Dharana
  7. Meditation
  8. Samadhi

1- Yama:

Non-violence, truth, non-stealing, non-stealing like celibacy, five ethics are prescribed for this restraint, physical, mental and mental. Failure to follow them affects both the life and society of the person.

2- Rule:

Rules have been enacted to make human beings dutiful and streamline life. These include defecation, satisfaction, asceticism, self-education and God providence. The defecation involves both external and internal purification.

3- Asana:

Patanjali has called the action of sitting steady and pleasing. Later thinkers have imagined many asanas. In fact, asana is the main subject of hatha yoga. A detailed description is found in ‘Hatha Yoga Pratipika‘, ‘Garden Samhita’ and ‘Yogashikhopanishad’ related to them.

4- Pranayama:

Nadi means for the adequate role of yoga and regulation of breathing and questioning for their awakening is Pranayam. Pranayama is very helpful for conquering the agility and disturbance of the mind.

5- Pratyahara:

The name of removing the senses from subjects is pratyahara. The senses outwardly man. Through this practice of pratyahara, the seeker attains the state of introversion required for yoga

6- Dharana:

The concentration of mind is focused on a particular place

7- Meditation:

When the mind becomes fit while contemplating the object, it is called meditation. In the state of complete meditation, knowledge of another thing or its memory does not enter the mind.

8- Samadhi:

It is a state of mind in which the mind becomes completely absorbed in the contemplation of the object. Yoga philosophy considers salvation possible only through samadhi.

astanga yoga pranayama

For more information, contact Yoga Center India, which is registered with Yoga Alliance and conducts residential yoga teacher training courses.